Top 10 Songs of 2017

As we start the New Year, here are my top 10 favourite songs from 2017.

10) ‘Whoever You Are’ – Harriet

One of the singles from new singer-songwriter Harriet was this lovely track. It’s a “searching for The One” type of song, and it is optimistic too, believing it will be
love at first sight. I like a lot of the imagery used, not looking for a fairytale, a hero, an angel or a galaxy in outer space, I guess looking for something more down to earth. I particularly like the chorus “if stars explode and fall out of the sky or if it’s the way that you smile and say ‘Hi’, if you’re made for me and meant for my heart I know I’ll love you whoever you are”. It’s very sweet and sincere, and I appreciate that given how little those qualities seem to be around at the moment.

9) ‘Physical’ – The Aces

I listened to this very good pop-rock track throughout most of 2017, and I think the video, directed by Charlotte Rutherford, really compliments the song. The bubblegum and ballgowns, the flamingo ornaments, the motel and neon-lit hotdog and fries takeaway, and all the pink and blue colours generally.

8) ‘Beautiful Ones’ – Hurts

This is another example of the video and the song working perfectly together, though in this case both the video and the song are much darker in tone. The video for ‘Beautiful Ones’ was directed by Tim Mattia and it is told backwards. There is a version you can see where the events are shown in chronological order, and in that one it is easier to follow what is going on, but the backwards one definitely works better as a music video, as the music syncs well with what is being shown. The video is upsetting and hard to watch in some places, but it is trying to address issues such as transphobia and homophobia. It isn’t just about horrific things though, it is also meant to be a celebration of individuality, the more upbeat parts of the song are matched with times when the lead character is happy, and that’s why it works better told backwards.

I knew Hurts frontman Theo Hutchcraft was a handsome man, but he is quite beautiful as a woman too!

7) ‘Don’t Kill My Vibe’ – Sigrid

Admittedly this track by Norwegian singer-songwriter Sigrid took a while to grow on me, but once I liked it I really liked it! It starts off quiet, but builds up to something majestic and powerful, with stormy production. It manages to be angry and uplifting at the same time, which is quite interesting. One of my favourite songs at the moment is Sigrid’s new single ‘Strangers’.

6) ‘Most Girls’ – Hailee Steinfeld

When I first saw the title of this song I thought it was going to be one of those “I’m not like those other girls” songs. But this was a very pleasant surprise, as it it has a message that “most girls are strong and smart and beautiful” and their differences are to be celebrated. This song was refreshing! I like Hailee Steinfeld playing lots of different characters in the video, which was directed by Hannah Lux Davies. Hailee Steinfeld plays a party girl, a brainy girl, a sporty girl and an arty girl. She could be a one-woman girlgroup!

5) ‘Havana’ – Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug

This is another one where the video, directed by Dave Meyers, is a large part of the songs appeal for me. It is a bit like a mini-movie, and it includes a telenovela AND a film within a video! It is very funny, I especially love the character of Karla. Well, no surprise I can relate to a character who watches too much TV. ‘Havana’ is I think by a long way the best song of 2017’s Latin pop revival.

4) ‘Catch Me If You Can’ – John Dahlbäck feat. Melanie Fontana

‘Catch Me If You Can’ is a great pop song with brilliant house production. Adding lyrics and vocals to a dance instrumental usually widens its appeal, and these tracks have an advantage over straightforward pop, as sometimes pop production can be on the bland side. Swedish producer John Dahlbäck constructs a great instrumental here, and Melanie Fontana’s vocals are gorgeous.

3) ‘Something Just Like This’ – The Chainsmokers & Coldplay

This was a surprisingly good team-up! Chainsmokers production on a Coldplay song. The protagonist compares himself to superheroes and figures from myth and legend, specifically Achilles, Hercules, Spiderman, Batman and Superman, and knows he can’t possibly live up to them, and his girlfriend tells him she isn’t looking for a superhero or a fairytale, she wants the real love they have. Awww. It’s very similar in theme to Harriet’s song.

2) ‘The Cure’ – Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga is known for being very outlandish, big production, big vocals, but this song, one of her best in a very long time, is quite different. It is very understated. It’s a delicate, intimate and heartfelt love song and is more in the pop-soul lane that what she usually does. She tried something different for her, and she did it extremely well.

1) ‘Came Here For Love’ – Sigala & Ella Eyre

‘Came Here For Love’ was my song of summer 2017, and it turns out of the whole year. To be honest it wasn’t even close, this song was way ahead as my favourite and I kind of knew when I first heard it this would end up being my top choice. Ella Eyre’s fabulous soaring vocals, Sigala being one of the best dance producers at the moment, the song itself is one of the strongest tropical house tracks and it is uplifting and full of joy and love. I think it’s great.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.