Birthday Playlist

As I am a total chart geek, I find that whole ‘what the singles chart was like on the day you were born’ thing interesting, as it shows what sort of world you were born into, or at least what pop music was like. There is also that idea that your favourite songs are the soundtrack to your life, if your life was a film which ones would you choose, and which songs remind you of memorable moments.

So I decided to look at the UK singles chart on my birthday, 18th of June 1985, and then look at the singles charts for every 18th of June from 1985-2012, so I could pick a song from each year.

1985

Simple Minds – Don’t You (Forget About Me)

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xfzsm3_simple-minds-don-t-you-forget-about-me_music?search_algo=2

This ’80s classic is from The Breakfast Club, which is the film I always say “that film is the same age as me”.

1986

Peter Gabriel – Sledgehammer

I think this was one of the first pop videos I ever saw, whether that influenced me loving animation I don’t know, but the animation in this video is fantastic.

1987

Whitney Houston – I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)

Whitney Houston sadly passed away earlier this year, and for me this pop-dance track is her best song.

1988

 Tracy Chapman – Fast Car

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xicnh9_tracy-chapman-fast-car_music?search_algo=2

This song is a contender for my favourite song of all time. It’s full of hope and sadness, and the story is told extremely well.

1989

 Fuzzbox – Pink Sunshine

I just really enjoy this song, the bright colours and the band’s style in the video.  It is so much fun.

1990

Adamski featuring Seal – Killer

I very, very vaguely remember this being performed on I think it must have been Top Of The Pops. But the only reason I remember it is because I’m called Adam and it was probably the first time I’d seen someone with a similar name to me on TV. That’s not the reason I’ve included it here, it’s here because it remains one of the strongest dance tracks I’ve ever heard.

1991

 Crowded House – Chocolate Cake

Well you’ve got to have chocolate cake on your birthday. Seriously, it’s another video with some good animation.

1992

 Manic Street Preachers – Motorcycle Empiness

I must have played this song millions of times over the years.

1993

 Sub Sub feat. Melanie Williams – Ain’t No Love (Ain’t No Use)

I like their later incarnation as Doves too.

1994

 Lush – Hypocrite

I’m a sucker for a fairground themed video, and this song is very much ear candy.

1995

 Tina Arena – Chains

I like the production on this track, it makes it more interesting than the average mid-90s big ballad.

1996

 The Smashing Pumpkins – Tonight Tonight

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xcuenz_the-smashing-pumpkins-tonight-tonig_music?search_algo=2

This song is just lovely. What it is becoming a pattern for this list, the video has some  very nice animation.

 1997

 The Cardigans – Lovefool

This is a lush, summery song.

 1998

 Catatonia – Road Rage

Catatonia were one of my favourite bands as a teenager.

 1999

 Hepburn – I Quit

The Buffy The Vampire Slayer soundtrack CD was ace.

2000

Jamelia – Call Me

I always liked Jamelia, and this one is an underrated early gem from her.

2001

S Club 7 – Don’t Stop Movin’

One of those pop songs that crossed boundries, even my parents and people who normally hate pop music liked it.

2002

Shakira – Whenever, Wherever

Like it or not, you could not ignore this track in 2002. A good thing for me as I liked it and still do.

2003

Amy Studt – Misfit

Mean Girls and Heathers plot in song form, this song spoke to all the leftover outcast teen angst in me.

2004

The Corrs – Summer Sunshine

This came out long after the peak of their popularity, but for me this is by far the best Corrs track.

2005

KT Tunstall – Other Side Of The World

My best friend left to live in America temporaily, and this song always made me think of her.

2006

Nerina Pallot – Everybody’s Gone To War

I don’t want to go on too much on this, but I wasn’t a supporter of the Iraq war, which is one reason I liked this song.  On a lighter note, the funny supermarket video was great.

2007

Maximo Park – Books From Boxes

I loved this band back then, and this song reminds me of working in a library.

2008

Rihanna – Disturbia

Rihanna has done so many great pop songs, this being one of her best, and I love the horror themed video.

2009

Enter Shikari – Juggernauts

One of my favourite tracks of 2009.

2010

Roll Deep feat. Jodie Connor – Good Times

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xcuh17_roll-deep-good-times_music?search_algo=2

Sometimes you just want a what-it-says-on-the-tin fun party track, and this delivers.

2011

Lady Gaga – The Edge Of Glory

This song reminds me of so many different moments in 2011,some nice, some sad, and I think one reason I felt a connection to this song is how emotional Lady Gaga sounds when she belts this song out.

2012

Scissor Sisters – Only The Horses

My favourite song in the charts at the moment.

One thought on “Birthday Playlist”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.